City Hall Access Limited to Appointment Only. Community Center Closed. 

Until further notice, City facilities other than City Hall will remain closed to the public. City hall will continue to provide access only by appointment. Residents interested in purchasing yard waste bags or tags can click HERE for information on retail establishments where they can be purchased. Contractor grade black trash bags in bulk can be purchased at most home improvement stores.


Kirkwood Electric & Kirkwood Water will not be doing shut-offs, and late fees for utility payments will be waived. Amtrak service has not been suspended, however effective May 11 all Amtrak passengers will be required to wear a mask (and provide their own when doing so).


The undesirable smell that we are currently experiencing with our water is attributed to the excessive rainfall/ runoff and treatment required to meet DNR water quality regulations. Though the smell is unwanted, the water is still safe to drink. The water’s taste and odor should dissipate within 3-4 days.


Please call police dispatch at 314-822-5858 for general inquiries or for further assistance.  Other inquiries can be made by emailing

Stay up to date on changes to City services and facility closures from the City of Kirkwood HERE. Subscribe to Kirkwood's E-Newsletter HERE

Historic Preservation

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Landmarks Commission recognizes and preserves properties that represent elements of the City's thriving cultural heritage and architectural history. The designated landmarks and local historic districts include businesses, schools, churches, cemeteries, and a multitude of historically significant homes. The mission of the Kirkwood Landmarks Commission is to protect, retain, and enhance such properties.

Individual Landmarks

There 85 designated landmarks located in Kirkwood. These properties receive the greatest protection in the City, and any demolition or exterior alterations are subject to review by the Landmarks Commission.

Local Historic Districts

Eight local historic districts have been designated by the Landmarks Commission: Meramec Highlands (circa 1892, recognized in 1988); Central Place (circa 1920s, recognized in 1998); Jefferson-Argonne (circa 1805s through WWII, recognized in 2007); Savoy (early 1950s modern, recognized in 2008); Craig Woods (mid 1950s, recognized in 2011); North Taylor (circa 1850s to 1950s, recognized in 2011); West Argonne (1859 to 1950s, recognized in 2014); and Barrett Brae (mid 1950s, recognized in 2015). Demolition and new construction of properties in these districts are subject to review by the Landmarks Commission in accordance with Design Guidelines.

Barrett Brae

Central Place

Craig Woods


Meramac Highlands

North Taylor Avenue


West Argonne

*Refer to the general Design Guidelines for all Landmarks and Historic Districts:

  1. Introduction
  2. Principles and Standards
  3. Architectural Styles

National Register of Historic Places

There are 24 properties and four historic districts (Downtown Kirkwood, East Monroe, Jefferson-Argonne, and North Taylor) listed on the National Register of Historic Places. While these designations are strictly honorary, a property on the national registry may be eligible for grants and tax credits for rehabilitation.

Downtown Kirkwood

East Monroe


North Taylor

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Flash Player Download Flash Player Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Download Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer